Thursday, July 3, 2014

The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings Book Review

The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings Book ReviewThe Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings
Published by HarperCollins on 2014-06-10
Genres: Action & Adventure, Adolescence, Alternative Family, Family, Social Issues, Survival Stories, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Source: Publisher
Goodreads

The Murder Complex is an action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate.Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision. The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn't know it—one of the MC's programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or is it part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family? This is a dark and compelling debut novel that will appeal to fans of Moira Young's Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Oh my god I don’t even know where to start because I loved this book so much and I don’t want this to turn into a gush section but this book was amazing and if you haven’t picked it up yet you need to asap. I loved this book from the very beginning  and as the story went on and the plot unfolded I couldn’t put it down. I think it has been a while that a book has gripped me the way this one did but this author told such a tale and left me shocked throughout this book. We start this book out by meeting Meadow who we learn lives in a world that people barely have enough to survive due to a virus that has taken over. I loved Meadow from the start because she was being groomed to be a warrior and that one that would help her family finally get ahead in life.

 

As the story continues and Meadow gets out on her own she learns that what she knew about her world may not be what she thinks it is. I think I started to really fall in love with Meadow when she is put into a situation that changes everything she knew but she decided she would deal with it and keep moving. She didn’t let it break her or make her into a different person. Meadow soon meets Zephyr who she learns may be someone important and she goes out a limb to help him. I loved that even with all that Meadow had going on she took the time to help others and so selfless. Meadow and Zephyr soon have to rely on each other and I loved seeing them work together and how much they learned to depend on each other. The major revelation in this book floored me and I swear I didn’t see it coming. The author completely blindsided me but in the end I loved it and knew it was all for a reason.

 

Overall I have to say this book is one that everyone must read. It was action packed and kept me glued to it that I read it all in one sitting. I was so invested in these characters and their outcome. The author did a fantastic job on the world building that I felt like I was living there and feeling and seeing what the characters were dealing with.  I think book had a well developed plot and it was well written. I highly recommend this one to other readers as  must read.

Posted by doctorsn at 5:00 AM

Category: Reviews


Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge