Tuesday, July 15, 2014

Perfected by Kate Jarvik Birch Review

Perfected by Kate Jarvik Birch ReviewPerfected by Kate Jarvik Birch
Published by Entangled Publishing, LLC on 2014-07-01
Genres: Love & Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
four-stars

Ever since the government passed legislation allowing people to be genetically engineered and raised as pets, the rich and powerful can own beautiful girls like sixteen-year-old Ginger as companions. But when Ginger moves in with her new masters and discovers the glamorous life she's been promised isn't at all what it seems, she’s forced to choose between a pampered existence full of gorgeous gowns and veiled threats, or seizing her chance at freedom with the boy she's come to love, risking both of their lives in a daring escape no one will ever forget.  For fans of Lauren Oliver’s Delirium and Lauren DeStefano’s Chemical Garden series, Kate Birch’s debut novel melds the feel of The Handmaid’s Tale with the historic underground railroad and wraps it in a glamorous—and dangerous—bow.

Perfected hooked me from the beginning and kept me reeled in the whole time. I loved this book for so many reasons but being that I read so many dystopian tales when I read one that stands out it makes it all worth while and this one did on so many levels. The author created a cool concept in that the main character Ella was created for the purpose of becoming a Pet to other humans. It was something to see the way the girls were bred and then the training they went through to learn how to become a Pet and the way the were sold to families was such an intense process. I loved that from the beginning Ella seemed to see herself as different and seemed to think more for herself. I could tell she was a little but different and it was cool to see. The concept of having humans as Pets in itself was different and made me really question how in the world a legislation like this could even be passed and yet at the same time I was sucked in and couldn’t stop reading to see how it would all play out.

 

As the story continues and Ella gets set up with her new family she soon learns that they have secrets that she knows nothing about and that she just may be in over her head. I loved meeting the people that Ella ended up with even though I was weirded out by the Congressman and didn’t trust him at all I fell in love with Ruby and Penn. I could tell poor Ruby needed friends and Ella seemed to be just what she needed and helped to break her out of her shell. I didn’t really care for the Congressman’s wife Elise either but I could tell there were reasons for the way she was so distant and cold. Penn was a welcome change because I loved the way he rebelled from the norm of his family and loved that he didn’t care what they thought about what he wanted to do. He was determined to live his life his way and however he wanted to. I have to say that once Penn and Ella started hanging out I realized soon on in what direction they would head in. I loved also that this book didn’t have any love triangles and made it where that wasn’t needed.

 

Overall this book was a welcome surprise and I loved every minute of it even when I was speechless about the way the Pets were treated.  I also loved that Ella started to stand up for herself and the way that she soon realized she was a human and not just a plaything for others. There were a few events that take place that put Ella on a new path and  I am looking forward to where the author will take us next especially after the cliffhanger ending. The author really has a hit on her hands and I highly recommend this to others as a must read.I personally can’t wait until the next book comes out in the series.

four-stars

Posted by doctorsn at 5:00 AM

Category: Reviews


Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge